3D Additive Manufacturing Driven Towards the Molecular Scale

The Cluster of Excellence is a collaboration of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and Heidelberg University (Uni HD). It pursues an interdisciplinary approach through conjunction of natural, engineering, and social sciences. 3DMM2O establishes scalable digital 3D Additive Manufacturing transcending from the molecular to the macroscopic scale.

This approach converts digital information into functional materials, devices and systems “made to order.” 3DMM2O creates a powerful technology push and pull by treating molecular materials, technologies and applications as indissolubly intertwined.

On the technology side, the scientific challenges are “finer, faster, and more”, i.e., advance molecular materials and technologies in terms of resolution, speed, and multi-material printing by orders of magnitude.

On the application side, we aim at functional 3D hybrid optical and electronic systems, 3D artificial materials called metamaterials, and at reconstructing functioning organotypic systems by using 3D scaffolds for cell culture.

Cluster Spokespersons

Martin Wegener

Prof. Dr. Martin Wegener
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
E-Mail: martin wegener∂kit edu

Uwe Bunz

Prof. Dr. Uwe Bunz
Heidelberg University
E-Mail: uwe bunz∂oci uni-heidelberg de


Screenshot Online CourseCluster 3DMM2O
Launch of Research Data Management Online Course


Research Data Management is an important aspect of the research conducted in the Cluster of Excellence 3D Matter Made to Order (3DMM2O). In order to provide Young Researchers with the necessary tools and knowledge, a recently launched online course by the Cluster introduces good scientific practice of research data handling in an interactive way including practice-oriented examples. 

Access the Course (Restricted to Cluster Members)
Designed elastic metamaterial structure composed of a single linear elastic material.Dr. Yi Chen, KIT
Usage of Rotons in 3D Metamaterials


Researchers led by Principal Investigator Martin Wegener are currently working on using rotons in artificial materials. These metamaterials could in the future manipulate or direct sound waves in a way never achieved before. The researchers report on their work in a paper published in Nature Communications.

Read the Press Release
Cluster Conference 2022Cluster 3DMM2O
Register now for the Cluster Conference 2022!


Registrations for Future 3D Additive Manufacturing - The 3DMM2O Conference 2022: 3D Nano- and Micro-Manufacturing: Technology and Technical Applications are now open! The conference will take place from April 3-8, 2022 in the baroque monastery of Schöntal, Germany (near Heilbronn).

Find Out More & Register
Biophotonic sensors with integrated Si3N4-organic hybrid (SiNOH) lasersDaria Kohler, KIT
Optical Biosensors for Diagnostics


In a recently published paper, a research team led by Principal Investigator Christian Koos presents optical biosensors that combine Si3N4 sensor circuits with hybrid on-chip organic lasers. The sensors may be used to produce low-cost point-of-care devices, thus enabling early and efficient disease diagnosis as well as other applications in biophotonics.


Read the Press Release (German)
Screenshot of PaperOSA Publishing
2020 OMEx Emerging Researcher Prize for Cluster paper


With the Optical Materials Express Emerging Researcher Best Paper Prize, the journal recognizes a student or early-career researcher who is the first author of a paper that a committee of OMEx editors judged to be outstanding. The 2020 prize goes to Simon Woska for his paper "Tunable photonic devices by 3D laser printing of liquid crystal elastomers". The author list includes several Cluster Young Researchers and Principal Investigators. Furthermore, the research was supported by the recently established CZF 3D User Lab.

Read the Press Release
IntervieweesCluster 3DMM2O / Agentur Triebfeder
Interviews with Carl Zeiss Scholarship holders


The Cluster 3DMM2O has a lot of talented Young Researchers. In order two increase their visibility, we have published two interviews with female Carl Zeiss Foundation Scholarship holders Britta Weidinger (A3) and Tamara Molitor (C3). In the interviews, they talk about their research and the role of the CZF Scholarship Program for their academic career.

Watch the Interviews